“The best Christmas trees come very close to exceeding nature.”

I think the sun went on vacation. Yesterday it rained in the morning and stayed cloudy the whole day though it was warmer than I expected. Today is also drab and gray. I am so glad that I was out for quite a while on Tuesday, the first sunny day in a while. I took the highway down cape but came back Route 28. It was a beautiful ride. I passed the ocean a few times. It was low tide and the water was still. It had a grayish tone. I saw a wild turkey fly. I hadn’t ever seen one fly before. It took a lumbering leap into the air and over a fence. I wasn’t sure the turkey had the height but it did. When I was passing the cove, the only boats moored, other than a single sailboat, were fishing boats. Most needed paint and had nets and lobster traps on deck. They all looked weathered and old. In Chatham, the store where I wanted to shop was gone. It didn’t matter. I really enjoyed the ride.

Last night my house was aglow. The front fence has strands of colored lights. The gate has a huge white star on top with trails of white lights coming from it. The top of the fence to and from the star is also white. Beside the driveway, bare branches on a bush are covered in huge Christmas ornaments. A floodlight shines on them. My deck rail has strands of colored lights atop it. I added bows to the three wreaths, put balls of colored ornaments in the basket on the steps and put my old sled with my ice skates beside the step. When it got dark last night, I went outside and stood on the street to check out my house. It is beautiful.

I did what I thought was quite a bit of wrapping yesterday. Come to find out I have so much more. All of the gifts are now downstairs filling the den and the hall. Maddie, though, is complicating the process by lying on the paper. She looks so comfy I don’t want to disturb her. I’ll probably just use different paper.

Tomorrow I’ll get the tree, the highlight of my Christmas. I love to sit in the living room just to look at it. Its aroma fills the house. I have a couple of new ornaments from Ghana. They aren’t really ornaments, but they’re big, round and colorful. They’ll do just fine.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

11 Comments on ““The best Christmas trees come very close to exceeding nature.””

  1. Hedley Says:

    Our house is aglow – but this evening we have a complete distraction as big Ol’ #72 and his Kansas City Chiefs take on those dirty raiders down at Arrowhead Stadium. The pitch is frozen but no doubt will be ready for game time and the match has huge implications for the AFC West, the Playoffs and a day out in Houston at the very end of the season.

    I don’t know if the Prince will have the chance to watch Uncle Eric tonight but hopefully I will see him tomorrow and catch up.

    Snow and Father Christmas are in the air and so is the pigskin…..Come on You Uncle Eric.

    BD did great in the Champions League last night at Real Madrid, I would think that the Bochum Belle was well pleased

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      I give up my Hallmark movies for Football. My Pats play on Monday. Their game too is important. It is a tougher team than they have played of late, the Ravens.

      Today is wrap day. I have so many full bags to check. I’m glad as I didn’t realize there was so much upstairs, and I was worried at what I didn’t have.

      Good to know Birgit is getting a bit of an early Christmas!

    • Birgit Says:

      Hedley, exactly 🙂 I could even watch it on TV. Too bad that our clubs won’t meet this time.

      Kat, this neighboring soccer town is also known for its big Christmas tree:
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e3b_TndbmdM

      • katry Says:

        Birgit,
        What a beautiful tree. I love that they do the lights a bit at a time to heighten the drama.

      • Hedley Says:

        Birgit
        Thought BD looked great, and I will be cheering you on. Meanwhile my lot are off to the stupid Europa League after a very disappointing CL effort.

  2. olof1 Says:

    My cottage is still very dark 🙂 I’ll see if I can get my thumbs out this weekend. I do miss the tree indoors and now when Orvar isn’t around I might try one again but not until next christmas. Noidea to do it now when I’m late with everything anyway 🙂 At least I will be able to start a fire in the stove tomorrow.

    50F and sunshine here today, they say it will stay rather warm over the weekend and if I’m lucky we’ll get fog again this Saturday.

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      I need to send all the Colorado gifts so I’m going to wrap all day and tonight. There are just so many!

      It is not as warm here but still warming; however, frigid temperatures are coming. I am not looking forward to that.

      Gracie never touches the tree luckily!

      Have a great evening!

  3. Bob Says:

    “God speed John Glenn” These were the TV reporter’s words broadcast when the Mercury space capsule was launched in 1962 carrying Col. John Glenn. He was the first American astronaut to orbit the earth. Today we lost the last of the original seven Mercury astronauts and a true American hero. Glenn was a combat Marine fighter pilot and navel test pilot before entering the space program. Additionally, Glenn went on to serve 24 years in the Senate from his native Ohio and at 78 was the oldest person to go into space on the shuttle Discovery. Glenn at 95 exemplified a well lived life. RIP John Glenn.

    I haven’t decided if tomorrow is the day to put up the Festivus pole or wait until closer to the solstice. 🙂 Of course the beauty of the Festivus pole is that it can be left up all year round and used as a coat rack. And because it lasts indefinitely it’s environmentally friendly. 🙂

    This morning we just barely hit freezing but tomorrow morning will be the hard freeze down to 24 degrees. The Alberta Clipper has arrived. 😦

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I remember the flight and I remember watching it on TV. I think we all held our breaths hoping he would safely return to earth. I loved his reaction to seeing the Earth from space. He was awed.

      My tree is delayed until Sunday. It is late for me but it is Gaudette Sunday so maybe it is a good day!

      I watched the news glad I wasn’t getting all that heavy snow and freezing weather though it may be on its way here. It is most decidedly winter!!

      • Bob Says:

        The quote was actually from the Cap Com, Scott Carpenter. Carpenter.

        I was in Jr. High school in the eighth grade and they took us into the auditorium to listen to the launch on the radio. Although the Russians beat us to space and to orbit the earth we got to the moon in July of 1969.

      • katry Says:

        I listened to the moon landing as I was in Peace Corps training in Ghana. It was on Voice of America, and we all huddled around the radio. We were in Bawku. I remember it well.


Comments are closed.


