“Sometimes me think, ‘What is Friend?’ Then me say, ‘Friend is someone to share the last cookie with.'”

Huzzah! Huzzah! My laundry is clean. The hall is empty of filled laundry bags. It was my only accomplishment of the day, but I consider it a huge one. I did binge watch a Netflix series called Between. I reasoned that sitting with pillows behind my back was a necessity as my back was aching from the trips up and down the stairs. In between changing loads from the washer to the dryer I brought up exactly two Christmas decorations. If anyone asks, I can truthfully say I have started decorating.

My heat is cranking. It is cold, down to the 30’s. It is also a gray day. The bare branches have an eerie look against the sky, sort of a Halloween vibe. There isn’t even a breeze. I have to go out later but I’m not looking forward to it. The warm, cozy house is just so inviting.

Gracie has been in and out all morning. She is restless, and I have no idea why. She does like the cold weather so maybe that’s a reason. She does bark, but when I check, I don’t see anyone or anything. Maybe her barking is what keeps the critters at bay.

My sister and I had our usual Sunday conversation. Today we talked food as both of us were watching the food channel with its Christmas programs. Moe is deciding what she’ll make for Christmas Eve when the whole family comes. Fondue is already on her list. She’ll have two fondue pots, one with oil for meat and one with cheese for breads and vegetables. Onion dip, of course, is a must. My mother always had it so the tradition continues. Moe usually has something Mexican like chili verdeย or corn tortillas. My brother-in-law usually smokes a roast and some chicken. The roast gets cut into bites and is served with a sauce. I’d want a horseradish sauce. Moe is trying to decide which sweets. Whoopie pies and sugar cookies are a must. She’s thinking maybe peanut butter cookies with a kiss in the middle but that’s as far as she’s gotten.

Part of the fun of Christmas is theย cooking and baking. The house usually smells great and I swear everything is delicious.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

10 Comments on ““Sometimes me think, ‘What is Friend?’ Then me say, ‘Friend is someone to share the last cookie with.'””

  1. flyboybob Says:

    A traditional Mexican Christmas treat are tamales. They can be filled with pork, chicken of anything else. Here in Texas they are wrapped in corn husks but I have had them for breakfast at a resort in the Yucatan Peninsula wrapped in banana leaves. They are served in the Tex-Mex tradition with either red or green chili sauce. I can just eat them right out of the wrapper. It’s a huge production to make them by hand but they are available in Mexican grocery stores.

    We haven’t gotten as much rain as was forecast this weekend but it has gotten colder. Right now it’s 50 degrees under a cloudy dreary sky.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      My sister will often serve tamales. She actually gets them from a Mexican restaurant they love. They make their own chili salsa verde, and it is delicious. I sometimes had food wrapped in banana leaves when I lived in Ghana. I do love Mexican food, and around here truly Mexican is difficult to find.

      50 is a winter heat wave!!

      • flyboybob Says:

        No wonder all the health spas and gymnasiums make most of their income selling memberships in January. Luckily most folks stop going by April. Otherwise the places would be jam packed. ๐Ÿ™‚

        So much for New Year’s resolutions. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        I am horrible at keep resolutions so I don’t make one.

  2. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    You remind me that I have laundry in the dryer. At least I think that’s where it is. It could still be in the washing machine which means I have to wash it again since it’s been a few days. ๐Ÿ™‚

    There’s a wreath on the front door. That’s the extent of Christmas decorations so far. La Bamba Chihuahua Santa has been out all year so he doesn’t count.

    It’s cold but sunny up here. I have the door open to the front porch to let the heat in. It gets very warm out there on a sunny winter day. Rocky likes to sleep out there in a sunny spot. Piki Dog doesn’t like it. I think Rocky told Piki Dog that there were monsters out there so he wouldn’t have to share. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      My laundry is still downstairs but folded. My back started to give out so I left it there. I’ll get it tomorrow.

      I’ve got 2 wreaths and a swag up outside but very little here in the house. This will be the week.

      We got some sun in the early afternoon, but it is also cold here. The sun has that sharp look it gets in the cold.

      I chuckled at Rocky scaring Piki Dog. There is a series of books about Bunnicula the Vampire Rabbit. Other animals in the house are Harold, the dog, and Chester, the cat, who do the same thing to poor Howie the puppy and scared him about Santa and witches. I gave the books to my niece and nephew when they were young, and they named their first cat Chester.

      Have a great evening!

  3. olof1 Says:

    I think every Swedish household has a fondue set but I don’t know a single one that ever use it ๐Ÿ™‚ I can see mine up on the cupboard and it has been standing there for several years ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t know why we don’t use them because it is really yummy to be honest.

    Warmish, no wind and lots of fog here today, my favorite kind of winter day. Well I do like it when it is sunny, nasty cold and all the plants outside is covered in thick rime too but I do prefer it a bit warmer ๐Ÿ™‚

    I too did my laundry today. I also renovated my fire stove so next weekend I’ll be able to use it again ๐Ÿ™‚

    Albin has suddenly started to realize there’s a world outside the fence and that he must warn everything aout how dangerous he is. Mostly it’s the cattle he hears or perhaps a bird ๐Ÿ™‚ I do hope I can make him stop doing this.

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      I like fondue and haven’t had it in a long time. Maybe I’ll have to make it too. It is a hot, tasty winter dish.

      It is really cold here. It almost feels like a damp cold as it seems to reach to the bones.

      Luckily I just have to keep the thermostat at whatever temperature keeps me warm. That, of course, depends on how warm or cold it is outside. I replaced all my windows about 7 or 8 years so they really keep out the cold.

      Good luck stopping Albin’s barking. Gracie didn’t do that when she was younger. There were other barking dogs in the neighborhood so she figured to join in with the barking.

      Enjoy your evening!

  4. Hedley Says:

    The Second Sunday in Advent…I wondered what next Sunday brings ?

    The fool Morrissey has yet again cancelled his tour including yet another Detroit show claiming tour bankruptcy. He needs to just go away.

    Meanwhile Tottenham cruised yesterday against a very poor Swansea team.AND…THE Detroit Lions have continued to entertain all of America was they go down to Mercedes dome and pound the hell out of the aints. 8-4 they are and they is FAB….. LIONS

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      We’ll take a win no matter who loses, great team or poor team. My Pats won as well and Brady sailed into the record books as the winningest quarterback in NFL history. He is having his best year in the last five, and he is 39.

      It is getting too close to Christmas. I must start wrapping Colorado.


Comments are closed.


