“All writers have this vague hope that the elves will come in the night and finish any stories.”

Winter is poking its head in the door. Last night was downright cold. This morning is warmer but is still chilly. The sun is shining but seems to serve little purpose except as scenery. I’m hanging around today though I do have an errand or two on my new list. I’m thinking I might just get to that laundry still sitting in front of the cellar door.

I’m using sticky notes for my lists. There are three notes attached to my table which conveniently is metal. The notes are a bright pink. One is a list of things to do and places to go. It looks long. Another reminds me of fairs and an open house at my potter’s  tomorrow. The last list is just a couple of gift items for Christmas presents and where I can get them. Luckily my table is big so there is plenty of room for more bright pink lists.

I figure to start making a list (yup, another one) of the cookies and candy I want to make for Christmas and the ingredients I need. Some traditions still hold. I’ll make fudge for my sister, orange cookies for Clare and if I have time, toffee for Moe and Rod. I’ll also pick some other cookies yet to be decided. I like to try new cookies year by year.

I sometimes wish The Elves and the Shoemaker was real. It would be so neat to wake up and have everything done. I’d be happy to leave a list for the elves. I have plenty I’m willing to share. While they’re at it, they might just do my laundry.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

6 Comments on ““All writers have this vague hope that the elves will come in the night and finish any stories.””

  1. Birgit Says:

    Spekulatius (Dutch-Belgian-German spiced cookies) may be a nice addition to your Christmas cookie list but I can’t find a proper recipe. However, wikipedia lists the spices and main ingredients:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Speculaas
    Just don’t add eggs, glaze, chocolate or other funny stuff as some recipes say. The shape is up to you, they just have to be thin and crunchy. The older the better.

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      I know about Spekulatius cookies, but I thought you need a roller with impressions you roll onto the cookies. I’m glad you told me they can be any shape.

      I’ll go by to Pinterest to find a recipe.

  2. Bob Says:

    I make wonderful lists and I never accomplish any of them. I make them electronically on my iPad and then ignore the reminders. 🙂 I used to make them on paper and then throw them away after they remain in my coat pocket or on my desk for a couple of weeks.

    The only homemade cookies I like are toll house. Oreos rule and Christmas cookies drool. 🙂 I’m not a fan of savory baked goods like ginger bread or pumpkin pie and chocolate rules.

    My sister in law is the family baker. She lives in Haddenfield NJ and bakes rugalach and mandlebread that she sends in a tin box. It’s a good thing she doesn’t live here or bring them herself because I would have to feign excitement and joy while trying to eat one. They are the Jewish version of the Christmas fruit cake. 🙂

    Today was cooler, rainy and dreary. The high was about 50 degrees.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I’m good at finishing lists. They are my way of getting stuff done. Putting them in front of me on the table helps me get to the items. The lists get thrown away only when they’re finished.

      I make great cookies. When my whole family got together for Christmas, I made several kinds of cookies. My mother loved the orange cookies and used to hide some so she’d have them for later. I love sugar cookies.

      I like some rugalach, but I haven’t ever tasted mandlebread.

      I stayed home today. It was cold, and I wasn’t in the mood to face the Saturday crowds.


Comments are closed.


