“Life is a fairy tale. Live it with wonder and amazement.”

Last night was winter. It was cold and windy. My sweatshirt wasn’t quite enough. North of us got a little snow. Thankfully, we were spared. It’s bad enough the temperature is below freezing without adding snow. Today too is really cold. My heat is blasting.

For some reason, the first few days of Ghana popped into my head from my memory drawers. We were all staying at a school in Winneba. The only view of the town was from the second floor balcony of the dorm. I could see rusted metal roofs and palm trees. That was it. It could have been many places, but on the way to my first language class, I saw geckos scurrying away from me. They were green and the first ones I’d ever seen. I remember looking at them and realizing I really am in Africa. It is one of my most vivid memories. I can still picture where I was standing. I remember the whitewashed cement wall about waist high, its flat top and the greenery close to the building and the steps. The wonder of that moment is something I haven’t ever forgotten and is still a delight. Just imagine being in Africa.

I have a few things to do today so I have to brave the cold. This is Gracie’s favorite time of the year because she can ride with me. It’s cold enough that she can wait in the car.

I got a notice for jury service yesterday. I’ve gotten them before and was dismissed three or four times and excused once. For one dismissal they kept us until after lunch when we were told the defendant had taken a plea bargain and we were not needed. That was like a Law and Order moment. Only once did I get so far as to be questioned about my suitability for the jury. I was excused. Come to find out I was excused because I was a school administrator, and the trial centered on some sort of discrimination surrounding the non-rehiring of a female administrator. I guess the prosecutor figured I’d be sympathetic. He was right.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

4 Comments on ““Life is a fairy tale. Live it with wonder and amazement.””

  1. Birgit Says:

    2 posts for 1 🙂 Thanks for giving on Thanksgiving 🙂
    I would love to hear more about your jury service if possible, it’s uncommon here.

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      I don’t know why I couldn’t find it yesterday. Usually the drafts folder has a number to tell me how many drafts are there. It did not.

      When you report to jury duty, it is at the main courthouse. We all wait until everyone is checked in then we are walked to the courthouse and ushered into the jury room where we wait. If the trial is happening, we are called in one by one for questioning by the defense and the prosecutor in front of the judge in the trial room to determine if we are acceptable. I haven’t been so that’s where my jury service has ended. Twice we sat around waiting, and there was no trial. In each instance the person being tried took the offer from the prosecutor.

      I went on-line and completed my jury form. It said my date is in March, and I would get information a week prior to my reporting. I’ll let you know then what happens.

      The summons is for the local court, A friend of mine was summoned for court in Boston and was accepted for the jury. He had to take the bus up and back every day for three weeks. Jury duty excuses us from work but that had to be awful. I haven’t been called except for local juries.

    • sprite Says:

      I’ve sat on juries twice here in D.C., once for a civil case and once for a criminal one. The criminal case was particularly frustrating because while we all agreed that we suspected the defendant was guilty, we didn’t feel that the attorney had proven it. We spent so long deliberating that we had to come back another day, and the lone hold-out decided that she’d rather just be wrong than to spend any longer trying to convince the other 11 of us. None of us left feeling that justice had been served.

      The last time I was called, one of the things the judge whose courtroom I was called into asked was whether we’d served on juries before. I said I had and was deemed unnecessary to the process. I’d like to think he was trying to spread the joy around.

      I don’t love the experience, but try to go into it open-minded, because if, for some reason, I was involved in a court case, I’d want the jurors to approach it that way.

      • katry Says:

        sprite,
        I agree about the lack of justice losing out to expediency in your case, but the lady was probably right that she couldn’t convince the rest.

        The prosecutor has the harder job but with the tools of today like DNA, computers and such the job is a bit easier than it used to be.

        I wouldn’t mind being on a jury during a trial as long as it didn’t last forever. I’d get restless just sitting there.

        I would hope that all jurors would be open-minded.


Comments are closed.


