“All tradition is merely the past.”

Today is cloudy and damp. The wind is blowing more leaves off the trees. The backyard has a layer of crusty brown leaves. Gracie makes noise when she walks around. The deck is covered again. Dismal is the best description of the weather.

I have a few errands today. Gracie is out of canned food, and I need bread. I’m also thinking I need a whoopie pie to chase away the clouds. Chocolate makes every day sunny.

My table is filled with catalogues with dog-eared pages. I am on the hunt for the last of my Christmas gifts. Now I am into the traditional. I need more ornaments as I give everyone a new ornament each year. That started when my nephews and niece were born. When they got married, they collected all their ornaments from my sister for their very first trees. Now I also buy ornaments for their kids and their husband and wives. Everyone also gets a bar of soap, not just any soap but soap with a bit of whimsy. I have bought lobsters, crabs, starfish, nutcrackers and, for the guys, soap on a rope. The kids get new books. I also hunt for fun gifts. My brother-in-law, the fisherman, is getting an antique drop line. I love to find stuff like that. It does take a bit of hunting, but the fun is in the hunt. Besides, I sometimes find a bauble for myself. Last night I tried to order gingerbread house kits. I started sending houses to be constructed when my oldest nephew was three.

Last night I tried to order gingerbread house kits, also traditional. I started sending houses to be constructed when my oldest nephew was three. I sent them every year after that. Now I send one to my nephew’s two children and my niece’s two. My two friends and I construct small ones on Christmas Eve, a newer tradition. I had trouble with the website so I called them last night. The owner happened to be there though the place was closed. He promised to call me back, and he did. This morning he found out the website stopped on the ordering page so he took my order over the phone. He was glad I had called him as they didn’t know about the problem.

I do have a great story about the finished house. One year my sister’s kids built theirs, and she warned them to keep their hands off it. Later she caught one of her kids licking the candy on the roof. His defense was he didn’t use his hands. He was right!

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

8 Comments on ““All tradition is merely the past.””

  1. sprite Says:

    Ha! That is a great story!

    • katry Says:

      sprite,
      My sister thought it was funny but didn’t let Justin know. She then expanded her warning to include not only hands but also mouth.

  2. olof1 Says:

    Windy and rainy here right now. It was actually quite nice when we were out walking since it didn’t rain. I do hope we’ll get a rain free weekend so we can take long enough walks for Albin to get rid of some of his energy, I need my night sleep πŸ™‚

    Great story πŸ™‚

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      The sun did come out here for about a half hour so most of the day was ugly.

      Last night I was so tired I slept through the night and didn’t hear Maddie at all. Gracie could have snored the whole night, and I didn’t hear that either. Maybe Albin will tire you out enough you don’t hear him.

      Fun story!

      Have a great evening!

  3. Bob Says:

    I have never liked gingerbread anything. It’s not like the cilantro bad taste which is genetic but with ginger cookies just a flavor I don’t like. When I was a kid we made similar buildings with snow on the roof from Lincoln logs. I don’t understand the holiday tradition of gingerbread houses. Of course I don’t understand the meaning of most Christmas traditions. πŸ™‚ I’m reminded of the opening number of ‘Fiddler on the Roof’, ‘Tradition’. A character asks “Rabbi, why is that a tradition”. The Rabbi replies “I don’t know, but it’s a tradition.”

    Unfortunately, the whole Pilgrim and Indian feast is just so much fantasy, especially the Turkey and stuffing staples. But, most people don’t have much venison and oysters in their fridge.

    My kids are at the age where they want cash. It’s a great gift, they get exactly what they want and I don’t even have to go on line. πŸ™‚ I hate shopping for myself much less someone else.

    I agree with Scrooge ‘Bah Humbug’. I would have just let tinyTim die. πŸ™‚

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      Traditions connect families across time. I think making gingerbread houses is just a fun thing for families to do together. It was probably just happenstance which got it associated with Christmas.

      The Pilgrims had just about every fowl but turkey, fowl like ducks and geese. I read that instead of stuffing, herbs, onions or nuts were stuffed inside the birds for extra flavor. When we barbecue turkey, we put onions in the cavity to add flavor.

      I love to shop in interesting little places with vintage or handmade stuff. One of my nephews loves vintage Christmas figures like plastic Santas each with a light inside and as I have a collection of those, I know what to look for, and I do love the hunt. I give a gift certificate to another nephew. I prefer gift certificates to cash.

      You didn’t grow up with all the wonderful traditions of Christmas so I understand your Bah Humbug!

      • Bob Says:

        Some folks in Southern Louisiana will deep fry their Thanksgiving turkey. I have never had a deep fried bird but several fires are started by people trying to deep fry turkeys every year due to inexperience. There’s a New Orleans style Chicken joint calked Popey’s who will deep fry the bird for you. Probably a safer way to fry. πŸ™‚

        Ben Franklin wanted to make the wild turkey our national bird. Thank goodness cooler heads won among the founder fathers who chose the Bald Eagle. Now we can always blame our coworkers by saying, ‘How can you soar with eagles when you fly with turkeys’.

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        Deep frying has gone national. Many places sell deep fryers. It is dangerous. I’d do it on the ground away from the house.

        We had a turducken one year. It was tasty but I didn’t like it more than turkey.

        I agree about the eagle and the turkey. There are very many wild turkeys around here. They roost in trees at night.


Comments are closed.


