“Adventure is worthwhile.”

This morning came at 4 o’clock, but I did go to bed at 8 so the early day wasn’t surprising. Right now I’m catching up with the debate by watching MSNBC. I despair.

Yesterday it rained all day and last night the rain fell in a deluge. It was the wettest day in the entire year. The wind blew so hard I could hear it howling. Gracie wouldn’t go out before bed. She took one look and backed away from the door. Smart dog!

I will try and empty my luggage today. I might even do a wash. I did exert myself and go shopping yesterday for animal and people food. We will all eat well for the next few days. I figure one of the best parts of a trip is not having to do anything but enjoy the travel. My room is cleaned. I eat at restaurants. My clothes get washed.

In Ghana time is relative. The Ghanaians distinguish between African time and European time. If Grace, one of my former students, said she’d be at our hotel at 10. We figured if she was there by 11, she’d be early. I’m coming is a favorite Ghanaian comment. It just means that at some time the expected visitor will arrive. The only exception is at a red light. The time between the light turning green and the first horn is about a second or two.

I am glad for the cool days here at home. I spent my entire time in Ghana sweaty. Beads of sweat rolled down my cheeks, and the back of my head was always soaked. Needing a sweatshirt in the cold, early morning is a joy. I probably won’t think the same when the temperature drops to below freezing.

Ghana is not known for its coffee. It is always instant with either evaporated milk or milk powder. I am now on my third cup of real coffee. Maybe I won’t need a nap today.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

18 Comments on ““Adventure is worthwhile.””

  1. William Sandford Says:

    This was the third day of early to bed and early to rise for all of us. Still trying to shake jet lag.
    Yesterday we had breakfast with Marty, then Open Doors Art Tour in the Monadnock region. We sold $100 of baskets from the trunk at one location.
    Nothing on the calendar today.

    • katry Says:

      Bill,
      I just took an hour’s nap, an eight o’clock nap. Also, I am still running to the bathroom. I guess food here doesn’t agree with me either.

      Great job on the baskets. That might help put a dent in the hundreds you have!

      Nothing for me today either.

  2. Birgit Says:

    I also watched the debate last night. Just coffee isn’t enough to survive it, add alcohol. Lots of alcohol.

  3. im6 Says:

    Welcome back! Glad you’re home safe and sound. Just in time to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the release of what is arguably the greatest rock song of all time. I can still remember where I was and what I was doing the first time I ever heard it. The radio station I listened to made a big deal about promoting the fact they were going to play it, so it was exactly 50 years ago today. Time flies.

  4. Hedley Says:

    Kat – while you were gallivanting around Ghana, Lenny was nice enough to release a new happy go lucky song bound to pick up your spirits. I believe that it first appeared during an episode of Peaky Blinders and strangely enough im6 are pretty on much the same page for this one

    So put on your dancing shoes and kick your heals up to….

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      I am not usually a lover of spoken music. Lorne Greene destroyed that for me. But I do like the cadence of this.

  5. Caryn Says:

    Welcome home, Kat!
    Looks like the vacation was a success. You enjoyed your time away with old friends in faraway lands and came back to a renewed appreciation of the little things that make home homely. Like real coffee. Real coffee is essential.
    But I still believe home would be so much more livable, if it had room service. 😉

    Yesterday was a difficult day for water-loathing dogs. Rocky will go out and quickly do what he needs to do. Piki Dog will just stand there or hide under a bush and do nothing. I dragged him outside at least 5 times before he did anything. And that was only after I took him, all by himself, up to the wooded area next to the church parking lot. Then he figured being wet, cold, uncomfortably far from home, and alone was reason enough to get down to business. Arghhh!

    Today is sunny and cool and windy. I should rake or do dishes.
    Or maybe go for a leaf peep with the dogs.

    Enjoy the day.

    • katry Says:

      Thanks, Caryn,
      I would not say no to room service especially the last few days. I seem to be tired all the time. Naps are necessary. The coffee this morning was a tasty delight even if I had to make it myself.

      Gracie usually doesn’t mind the rain, but last night was just too much for her. It was wind driven rain. I figured if she can hold it, she will.

      I need to put the storm door in the back as I leave that open for Gracie, and it was cold all day today. If I dare shut the door, she rings her bells.

      You also enjoy the day!

  6. olof1 Says:

    The first days of cool weather after a long period of heat are always really nice. It has been cool here for quite some time now so I’m tired of it now 🙂

    I would be really annoyed if people didn’t come when they’ve said they should but one must adapt to how it is where one goes but I think I still would have problems if they took too long time to come 🙂 It is hard to kick out the European time from the brain 🙂

    I didn’t have either tea nor cxoffee at home this morning, that is not a good start of the day. So the first thing I did after work was to go to the store on my way home 🙂 Tomorrow morning will feel so much better 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      The warmth comes and goes this time of year. Today is cool, yesterday it rained and tomorrow will be warmer. It is difficult to figure.

      You would go crazy in Ghana. One of my students said 10 and she showed up at 11:30. Even then it was early.

      I also went to the store yesterday. I can’t live without my coffee.

      Enjoy the evening!

  7. Bob Says:

    Watching the top of the ninth inning and rooting for Boston to stay alive before switching to watch the Cubs and the Giants.

    Exciting baseball even though the rangers are eliminated by Toronto. Now that Theo Epstein broke the curse of the bambino maybe he can kill the billy goat curse of Chicago.


Comments are closed.


