“Summer has filled her veins with light and her heart is washed with noon.”

Today is another lovely day, sunny and not too humid. We will be cooler here with an ocean breeze keeping us in the high 70’s. Tonight should be even cooler.

The house next door isn’t rented, the first time all summer. I think it’s because many schools start this coming week so vacation is over. The TV has been filled with ads for back to school clothes and supplies. Parents are rejoicing.

Last night was movie night. We watched a 1957 black and white science fiction movie called The Beginning of the End. It was wonderful. The giant grasshoppers, the locust, are destroying whole towns and are headed for Chicago. The hero, a scientist, and the heroine, a newspaper woman, bravely counter the onslaught. She wears a lot of hats and carries petite purses. He stays impeccably dressed and his sharply pleated pants never wrinkle. The movie was quite entertaining. It also made us laugh.

Yesterday I went to the Italian cheese shop and bought goodies for last night: crostini, Taleggio, a soft cheese, and prosciutto. My next stop was the candy store for chocolates and fudge. My friends brought hummus and a hot cheese dip. We dined lavishly as we watched the movie.

Today is a day of rest. Gracie and I need to go to the dump, but that can wait until tomorrow. The day is so lovely we’ll be outside on the deck. Gracie will sleep in the shade, and I’ll sit at the table to finish reading the papers then I think I may just nap on the lounge. Thinking about it is making me yawn.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

6 Comments on ““Summer has filled her veins with light and her heart is washed with noon.””

  1. olof1 Says:

    I have a vague memory of seeing that film and that i liked it. I do remember the grass hoppers but not the heroes 🙂

    The rainy weather here made this little village even more quiet than usual. My closest neighbor did work on his house for a few minutes before the rain started but after that not a sound anywhere.

    I’ve done the laundry, the only chore I had today after that I really can’t remember doing anything at all 🙂 I think I dozed off in front of the tv for a while but otherwise my memory of this day is blank 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      We did laugh at parts of it, but we all really enjoyed it. Now we want to see more like this one. It is a wonderful way to spend an evening.

      I want rain. The whole state wants rain. Some places in other states are underwater as they got over 2 feet of rain. We have had almost no rain since June.

      I could do laundry, but I’ll wait until tomorrow. This is a quiet week for me.

      Have a great day!!

  2. Hedley Says:

    We rolled in to Bishop Foley, our linebacker ready to inflict damage on St Pius. The heat forced us under the bleachers waiting for him to hit the field. The St. Lawrence Mustangs have cheerleaders. And then the heavens opened, we fled to the field house but it didn’t abate. A reschedule it is.

    I talked to the Prince’s coach – I am guessing a lot of action for our NFL Prospect under the lights on Friday night at Marist

    I want to take your photo with the cheerleaders I told him – I was rebuffed.

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,

      I don’t find it surprising that the ten-year-old Prince would rebuff you. Give him a few more years and it might be his suggestion.

      I’m sorry the game was awash.

  3. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    That movie sounds sort of familiar. The part about the giant grasshoppers does anyway.

    Today, I put together a small Weber grill. Just in time for summer to be over. 🙂 It’s one of those table top size grills. Putting it together was interesting as I could not find any of my screw drivers. I have many. Somewhere. :/ Anyway, I have the charcoal and can fire it up as soon as I have something to cook on it. Peapod comes on Tuesday and will be bearing steak.

    The weather was pleasant outside the house. For some reason that lovely cool breeze does not blow inside the house. My windows are all in the wrong direction.

    Enjoy the day.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      You are probably thinking of the same movie. There aren’t many where giant grasshoppers are part of the lot.

      I have to make a Peapod order tonight.

      My first grill was a small Weber then I got a larger one then finally a gas Weber. I always cooked with wood charcoal. It smelled great and imparted a wonderful taste to food. I find the briquets to be a bit too chemical.

      The weather was lovely, and I had that elusive breeze though it has since disappeared.

      Have a wonderful evening.


Comments are closed.


