“The month of August had turned into a griddle where the days just lay there and sizzled.”

Here I am again, inside the house retreating from the heat. Today will be in the high 80’s on the cape and the 90’s in Boston and north of Boston. My friend Bill sent me the weather from Bolgatanga, Ghana where it will be cooler than here and rainy. What’s with that, cooler in Africa than here?

I could do a couple of errands today, but I won’t. I’m staying housebound by choice. I have food and drink, a semi-full larder, so I’ll be content and cool. I’m even considering baking something.

I hit a wall in watching the Olympics so last night I hunted for something else. It ended up being Cupcake Wars. I traded one boring program for a really boring program, but I’m guessing those cupcakes inspired me to think about baking today. This morning I’ve already watched women’s water polo. That wall is getting closer.

Yesterday I did two loads of laundry. They by themselves are not remarkable, but, for once, I didn’t leave any laundry in the dryer. I am known for leaving laundry in the dryer for up to a week. The clothes come out really wrinkled, but I don’t care.

Books are on the table in front of me as is the TV remote. They represent the day’s diversions, things to keep me busy, things to help the day pass.

When I was a kid, I’d be bored by the middle of August. I had done all the fun things several times, and they had begun to lose their luster. The afternoons were often too hot to do much. I remember being at the park and sitting in the shade. We played some checkers at the table and worked gimp. I remember painting a tray for my mother. We couldn’t play softball. Little kids couldn’t use the slide and seesaw because of the heat. The metal slide would have burned the backs of their legs. August is always hot and humid.

Every month I get a report from my electric company on my usage and how it compares to my neighbors’ usage. My sister in Colorado happened to mention her report to me as her husband, Rod, showed her they were the highest in the neighborhood. I said mine was too. We both decided we didn’t care. We want to live comfortably: cool in summer and warm in winter. I’m sending my next one to Rod so he’ll see they are not alone.

Tonight after midnight the Perseids meteor shower will begin, but the best viewing is after 1 AM or even later. There will be an unusually high number of meteors tonight anywhere from 160 to 200 meteors per hour. The suggestion is to lie on your back and look straight up. Drinking caffein to stay awake was another suggestion. I’m thinking iced coffee.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

14 Comments on ““The month of August had turned into a griddle where the days just lay there and sizzled.””


  1. Ha ha, our energy report was higher than average in our neighborhood for a house our size, too! Sorry, I am not sweltering to death. In the winter we use wood so I figure we’ve earned some summer energy usage.


    • I fear the day when Big Brother shuts you down when you’ve exceeded your average, btw.

    • Kathleen Ryan Says:

      Erin,
      Two of the houses on my street are only seasonal and another house only has limited winter use, school vacations and some weekends, and three weeks or so in the summer as it is their second house. I am here all the time which is one of the reasons for the usage in comparison.

      I won’t swelter in summer or be cold in winter.

  2. Hedley Says:

    Erin and Kat

    I am pleased to report that I get a regular stream of emails pointing out my electrical indiscretions and that I am the sole person responsible for global warming, unlike my (unnamed) neighbors who have protected electric for generations to come. I am expecting a call from the DTEPolice anytime.

    Its so friggin hot here that it has been raining and the air is getting worse.

    I am watching the “Gold Zone” from Rio which simultaneously broadcasts 4 events – I got quite involved with some Bulgarian playing defense against his Chinese foe who was pounding it in ping pong. I couldn’t get worked up about dressage. Horse going sideways and all that.

    • Kathleen Ryan Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      Maybe, just maybe, the electric companies send the same thing to all their customers in their vain attempts to lower usage. I, like you, will take responsibility for global warming. I figure Erin will too.

      I went outside only once today, to get my papers. It was hot then, and it was 8:30. My cleaning couple just arrived and are luxuriating in the cold air of my house compared to the earlier houses they cleaned. They dared me to go outside in the heat. I declined.

      I watched water polo and some swimming heats.

  3. Coleen Says:

    Staying in today with the heat. Tomorrow I must be out to pick up my check and then cover an outdoor concert in what is expected to be about 85-90 degree heat. Yuck.

    A girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do. And remind me of this post when we both are dealing with snow up to our butts this winter, OK? 🙂

    Waving to make a breeze,

    Coleen

    • Kathleen Ryan Says:

      Coleen,
      I went outside to water the plants and felt as if I were walking into a sauna. I hurried to run back inside and sighed once I hit the air conditioned.

      Funny, I was thinking the same thing about this winter. We’ll have to remind each other!

  4. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    My electric company has never, to my knowledge, sent me anything like that. It’s a municipal electric company that is not part of National Grid or the other one. Maybe that’s why.
    Way back when the MWRA water rates started hitting our water and sewer bills many of the households on my street got letters from the town telling us our unit cost was going up as well because we didn’t use enough water to qualify for the lower rate. At the time, many of those houses had only two people living in them because the kids had grown and flown so water usage was low. The day after we all got those letters, the state sent round some people to offer us various water-saving devices and tips on how to reduce our water use and lower our bills. You can imagine how those folks were received.

    I took the dogs out for their first walk of the day at 6:30 this morning. It was already in the 70’s and so very humid I really felt that I should have scuba gear. Subsequent walks were even worse though not quite as humid because the heat had sucked up a lot of the dampness from yesterday’s rain. The AC has been running all day and shall continue to run. I watched Olympic Dressage today. Not boring.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Kathleen Ryan Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      It seems that it is far more nationwide then we’d think. Hedley in Michigan got one, my cousin Erin got hers in New Hampshire and Moe, my sister, is in Colorado. I’ll have to ask my sister who lives in Stoneham if she gets one.

      That is ridiculous when one municipal hand doesn’t know what the other is doing. My mother always complained about her water bill. Mine is usually a little over $100. That is a result of my summer irrigation system.

      My AC has also been on since yesterday and by the sound of the weather report it will be on all day tomorrow as well.

      Even though I know the results, I’m watching the individual gymnastics.

  5. Bob Says:

    I don’t get an electric bill because my condo monthly dues includes my electricity. The condo association buys electricity at the commercial rate and charges each condo owner based on their square footage. When the temperature hits triple digits for days on end I’m sure it puts a strain on the grid. When I get up at six in the morning and the low temperature is over 80 degrees I drive to work with the AC on, spend the day inside and drive home with the AC going fill blast.

    Of course there’s always Phoenix where the temperature can exceed 110 in August. But it’s a dry heat. 🙂

    • Kathleen Ryan Says:

      Bob,

      When I lived in Ghana, there was one room in my town with an air conditioner. It was called the cold room and was in a bar. The problem was so many people were in the room you could never feel the heat. The temperature in Bolga was often over a 100˚ during the dry season. A candle my mother had sent melted from the heat in the air. The only saving grace was it was a dry heat but it was just as debilitating as the humidity.

      I’m heating to the end of the rainy season and the start of the dry.

  6. fred lapides Says:

    when things are not overly nice and i feel a bit discomforted, i focus on the refugees fleeing the slaughters taking place in Iraq, Syria, Yemen, etc…and then I remember too that with a climate change bringing more heat and rising waters to this continent, in the Middle East, there will be a drying up of all drinkable water, increasing heat that will make living there impossible, creating more refugess–climate refugees. and with this somewhat downer comment, enjoy what you have, stay cool, count blessings
    Phred

    • Kathleen Ryan Says:

      Phred,
      I saw a program on the heat cycle hitting the Middle East now where it has been 120˚ for days. People are told to stay home, but they go to work because many of them work in air conditioned buildings. Only the wealthy have AC as they also need a back-up generator which most can’t afford. The prediction is that the Middle East will become in habitable.

      Even if I didn’t have AC, I’d have fans to whirl away the heat. I am blessed indeed.


Comments are closed.


