“Let us step into the night and pursue that flighty temptress, adventure.”

Being under the covers did no good. They were too skimpy and the house was too cold. I jumped out of bed, put on my slippers, my sweatshirt and my around the house pants then ran downstairs and turned on the heat. It was 62˚. I got my coffee and warmed my hands around the cup. Soon enough the house was cozy.

When I was a kid, I could make something out of nothing. Life was an adventure. A walk became a trek or a safari. The train tracks were a trip into the unknown. The woods were deep and harbored creatures which shied from humans, but we knew they were there. The old fallen tree trunk was a spaceship or even a pirate ship. A tree branch was a sword. We followed paths we’d never been on before. They were narrow and overhung with branches you had to hold and push aside. If you let go of the branch, the person behind you got whacked. That was never a good idea.

My life is still an adventure. I’ve been lucky in that way. I don’t see spaceships any more, but I have seen parts of the world I could never have imagined. I remember the house in Ecuador where Guinea pigs were running around then I found out they were a popular dish called cuy. The bus stopped in the Sierra Nevada mountains for lunch, and I had the best trout I have ever eaten. The other passengers pointed to it on the menu to make sure we ordered it. Sunsets give me pause everywhere. A starry sky is one of the most beautiful of all sights. I saw the Andes covered with snow. I saw bananas and pineapples growing. I have been to Africa.

When I was eleven, I vowed I’d see the world. I still have places to go, but I’m working on it. I love adventures.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

10 Comments on ““Let us step into the night and pursue that flighty temptress, adventure.””

  1. olof1 Says:

    Cold and foggy in the morning here but warm and nice indoors. There was no wind at all though so it was quite pleasant on our morning walk. The sun did arrive but much later than I had hoped so I took a long nap instead, my plan was to mow the lawn but I can say I felt it was that urgent to be honest 🙂

    Walking around here by the bog and in the forest do keep my imagination alive 🙂 I still see trolls, forest nymphs and the eventual whitch 🙂 I travel the space every time I see the stars, finding other civilasaitions and most probably giving them diseases they never have had and most likely will kill them 🙂

    If You want to see the most beautiful country in the world You must go to Norway and especially the area around the city called Bergen. Norway is insanely expensive but also insanely beautiful! I’ve heard that New Zealand look much the same so that is an alternative.

    Have a great day!
    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      Just the opposite here-cold inside and warm outside. I now have the doors opened as the air is just so fresh. I am about to take a nap after I finish here then to friends’ for dinner.

      There are too may houses but I do have a fairy house in my yard just in case one decides to moved in. That would be wonderful.

      Both places are insanely expensive but I have heard both are beautiful beyond words. Maybe someday!

      Have a great evening.

  2. Motpfy Says:

    Rich Dark Fruit Cake

    Ingredients

    2 x 350g packets raisins

    3 x 350g packets sultanas

    1 x 350g packet currants

    60g cherries

    60g mixed peel

    120g blanched almonds

    Juice of 1 orange

    4 tablespoons rum

    4 tablespoons sherry

    500g butter

    500g brown sugar

    10 eggs

    1 tablespoon treacle

    1 dessertspoon coffee essence

    2 tablespoons vanilla

    1 tablespoon lemon essence

    60g self-raising flour

    600g plain flour

    ½ teaspoon ground cloves

    ½ teaspoon salt

    2 teaspoons of mixed spice

    Method

    Soak fruit overnight. Cut raisins, and any large sultanas or cherries. Put the rum and sherry over the fruit, and the juice of the orange. Mix well, leaving almonds to add next day. Beat the butter and sugar until creamy. Add eggs. Beat well after each egg. Add treacle and essence. Add dry ingredients. Lastly, add fruit mixture. Mix well. Bake in a 25-28cm sq tin, lined with Glad Bake. Cook at 150°C for two hours, then reduce to 120°C for another four hours or until cooked. Wrap in heavy towel and leave to cool.

    • katry Says:

      Morpfy,
      A while back someone asked where you were and what about your recipes. It great to have you back and I’m happy to see another recipe. You have been away far too long. Your Coffee family misses you.

      The only ingredient I don’t like is almonds. The rest sound delicious!

      Thanks!!!

  3. flyboybob Says:

    I have been in Toronto all week where the weather has been beautiful. Today the temperature here is 75 with partly cloudy skies, I’m sitting at the airport waiting to fly home to 91 degree heat.

    Every day is an adventure. I never know what interesting things will rise up at work and surprise me. Working for a company that is poorly organized with all our processes broken keeps life interesting. I never dreamed that I would travel to the places where I have been the last few years. They are all business trips but I get to know the people I work with very well and they either take me to interesting places. Or recommend them. Having two teenage kids is an adventure in itself.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I can’t believe it is still so hot for you at home. We have temperatures in the 70’s as well with lots of sun. It is the night which is our warning that winter is coming soon.

      I can understand the adventure of teenage kids. After all, I worked with them for years and knew them at their best and their worst.

      Travel is the best. I love countries that are still evolving, becoming. They are the most interesting of all, and I love countries with different cultures.

  4. Morpfy Says:

    Honey-Ginger Chicken with Lime
    Ad by Movie Mode
    2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
    1 tablespoon honey
    1/3 cup minced fresh ginger
    1 jalapeño, finely chopped
    2 teaspoons garam masala
    1 1/2 teaspoons ground coriander
    1 teaspoon ground cumin
    1/2 teaspoon cayenne
    1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon salt
    1 teaspoon cracked black pepper
    3 1/2 teaspoons grated lime zest
    4 chicken legs, cut into drumsticks and thighs
    2 teaspoons sugar
    4 tablespoons unsalted butter
    2 tablespoons canola oil
    2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
    Lime wedges, for serving
    Preheat the oven to 400°. In a bowl, whisk the vinegar, honey, ginger, jalapeño, garam masala, coriander, cumin, cayenne, salt, pepper and 3 teaspoons of the lime zest. Prick the chicken with a fork, add it to the bowl and toss. In a small bowl, mix the sugar with the remaining lime zest.
    In a large ovenproof skillet, melt 2 tablespoons of the butter in the oil over moderately high heat. Add the chicken and cook, turning, until golden, 5 minutes. Sprinkle with the lime sugar and roast for 25 minutes, or until the chicken is cooked.
    Add the lime juice and the remaining butter to the skillet. Serve the chicken with the pan juices and lime wedges.

    • katry Says:

      Okay, Morpfy, this one sounds great. I love using lime juice and I always have chicken in the freezer. I actually have garam masala in my spice cabinet. I love the sounds of this recipe. I am a cook, and I can imagine the taste of a dish from the ingredients, and I know this one will be spectacular.

  5. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    56ºF in my house this morning. You betcha I turned on the heat. I took the dogs for a walk while the house was getting up to a temperature more civilized for taking showers. It was not warmer outside this morning, though, as the clouds did not disperse but became even thicker. Eventually they did clear out some. I have the thermostat set for 60 just in case it gets that cold in here again.

    Tasty recipes in the comments today. I might have to actually cook. That will be an adventure. 🙂

    Enjoy the evening.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      My house was warmer but still needed the heat. I was patient while it warmed. Outside was definitely nicer than inside.

      Tonight is warm as well. The house is 70˚ without the heat.

      I think I’ll make that chicken recipe. I love all the ingredients, especially the lime. It sounds like a dinner with friends night.

      Have a great evening!


Comments are closed.


