“The Scriven men wore stack-heeled boots and pearl-studded evening coats; the ladies in their vast skirts looked like mythical creatures, half woman, half sofa.”

We have been graced with sun yet again. The day will be warmish. I’ve become hopeful and have even started to make a list of flowers for the garden, perennials for the front and annuals for the boxes in the back. I also need herbs for both the herb garden and the deck boxes and vegetables for my small vegetable garden. I love to shop for flowers.

When I was young, girls’ dungarees had a zipper in the front pocket. They weren’t as sturdy as boys’ dungarees. My brother wore jerseys and I mostly wore blouses. In the summer I wore sleeveless blouses and shorts. I also wore white sneakers and socks. I don’t know why, but I never wore sandals. I don’t remember if anyone did. My brother never wore shorts. Boys seldom did even in the heat of summer. Shorts were a girl thing, and the distinction between girls’ and boys’ stuff was huge when I was growing up. Boys’ bikes had that bar across the middle while girls’ bikes didn’t. No boy would have ever been caught dead on a girl’s bike, but if you think about it now, the boys would have been better served with no bar. My brother wore black Converse high tops, and I wore Converse as well but white, kind of pointy-toed ankle high sneakers. When I was young, keeping them white didn’t matter, but when I was older, keeping them white was so important I remember using white shoe polish to cover up scuffs. The polish would seep through the sneakers onto my socks and feet. Boys had better winter hats. They had ear flaps which kept their ears warm. I had a wool tam which didn’t make it to my ears which were always cold and red. We both wore mittens. Gloves were for adults. Our boots went over our shoes. Boys mostly wore black boots. Girls preferred colors. Red was a favorite. I never wore pants to school except under my skirt on the coldest days. The only time I could wear pants was playing after school or on Saturdays. I always thought it was a gyp.

Even in Ghana I had to wear dresses all the time. Clothes I brought with me didn’t hold up well to hand scrubbing so I had dresses made. We all did. They were made with Ghanaian cloth and were beautiful. When I went back a few years ago, I brought a dress and wore it once. The rest of time I wore pants. They had become acceptable for women.

There are very few times or places where a dress is expected wear. I wore one this Easter as I do every year. I think the last time before that was a wedding. I have a fall-winter dress and two spring-summer dresses. They are all I need.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

14 Comments on ““The Scriven men wore stack-heeled boots and pearl-studded evening coats; the ladies in their vast skirts looked like mythical creatures, half woman, half sofa.””

  1. Hedley Says:

    And home went the Cowboys. U turned and gone. The running with the bulls thing seemed a bit over aggressive and I had visions of hitting the pavement and doing the unspeakable to my leg again.

    The KTCC team of Brenchel, makes the final four….here we go

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      I have always liked the Cowboys and was sorry to see them go. It was a smart u-turn to get rid of an excellent team and leave the 2 country singers, the weakest of all teams. I agree about the running of the bulls. I’m surprised only a knee fell victim to the mayhem.

      Go Brenchels!

      • Hedley Says:

        Kat, did you see that next week they are heading to Anfield ? Must have made a deal with Fenway Sports – look for shameless pandering to Liverpool Football Club

      • katry Says:

        MFH,
        I didn’t see that, but as for shameless pandering, if it succeeds, it’s brilliant!

  2. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    I don’t remember having a zipper pocket in my dungarees when I was a kid. I don’t remember the pockets at all as a matter of fact. Possibly I didn’t need pockets back then.
    I used to wear Keds or PF Flyers. Always red. Once in a while I wore buckle shoes like Maryjanes. The Keds were my favorites. I could run faster in Keds. 🙂
    The comment about the ear flap hats had me chuckling. I have several pictures of my middle brother and me with our ear flap hats tied under our chins and our cheeks bright red from the cold. I can almost hear us sniffling. 🙂

    It’s heavily cloudy up here today but not too cool. I’ve been waiting to see if any of those clouds would drop some rain on the patch of dirt that will soon be grass (I hope). No luck. I trudged down cellar, turned on the outside faucets, lugged the hose out and watered the patch. The seeds are covered with some blue stuff so I hope the birds don’t eat it. It can’t be good for them.

    Now I’m going to make my third attempt to purchase dog food at the local pet shop. They were closed yesterday when I went. They were closed this morning when I went but they would open at noon. So I’m going again. I had three things to do today. I attempted all of them but have only succeeded in one. So far.

    Enjoy the day.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      The dungarees with the elastic waist I had when I was really little had no pockets so maybe you had those.

      There was a Converse outlet we used to go to get our sneakers, and they were a bit cheaper there. I never had ear flaps until I was older, an adult I think. I have a hat right now which has them.

      The clouds have rolled in here too. We had a bit of rain last night so I haven’t needed to water my lawn. I have to get the guy to come and check my irrigation system and turn it on.

      Tomorrow is Agway and dog and cat food day. Today is change sheets and do laundry day, but I haven’t yet done either.

      Have a great afternoon!

  3. Coleen Burnett Says:

    A dress? What’s that? Never cared for them. Funny how the world changes…there used to be all these rules about what to wear. Now seemingly nobody pays attention to such stuff…

    I remember- – maybe it was freshman year – – when the girls in HS were allowed to wear pants. A big deal. You can bet I took advantage of it.

    A beautiful day here…rain later in the week. Enjoy.

    Waving,

    Coleen

    • katry Says:

      Hi Coleen,
      I never cared for them either though they were cooler to wear than pants in Ghana so that wasn’t too bad.

      Nope, no one pays any attention to dress much any more. Shorts are even worn in church. I remember when people used to dress up for airplane travel.

      It wasn’t until I was a sophomore in college that the dress code changed. There was a spell of freezing weather so they allowed women to wear pants. That was one genie they couldn’t stick back into the bottle.

      It is an intermittent sun here!

      Waving from sometimes sunny Cape Cod!

  4. olof1 Says:

    It was the other way round here, shorst were somethimng boys wore but never girls but things changed when I grew up at the sixties- seventies. I had one of those Russian hats with ear flaps. I doubt it was real fur though but I remember it as very warm and perfect for one that didn’t like winter 🙂

    All of us had bikes we inherited from older sibklings so there was nu use in complaining about having a girls bike 🙂 I got my sisters red bike and I still think it was the best I’ve ever had 🙂

    Sunny and warm and windfree today but nbow clouds cover the sky and rain is supposed to arrive tomorrow. I hope it will be cloudy tonight so we don’t get more frost, I’m a bit tired of it now since the temperature drop so much. After the rain they say it will be warmer again. I’ll believe it when it happens 🙂

    Have a great day!
    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      I have that same Russian hat. Mine is white fake fur and has great ear flaps and a pin of sorts on the front. It is really warm.

      Boys would complain if they ever got a girl’s bike. Because, I had only one brother he didn’t have hand-me-downs of anything.

      The sun keeps struggling to stay out but isn’t successful right now. The clouds have taken over.

      We go down at night but not much now. I leave my bedroom window open all night.

      Have a great evening!

  5. flyboybob Says:

    Growing up in Texas I never heard of dungarees. We wore Levi’s or Lee’s jeans. They had to have the name branded onto a leather patch on the back where your belt went. Denim pants constructed with rivets were and have always been called blue jeans in the place where they were made famous in Texas. When I moved back to NYC people there referred to dungarees. What cowboy or cowgirl would be caught dead in dungarees. 🙂

    I always wore black Ked’s high tops, jeans and tee shirts to school like everyone else until I went to Junior High in Queens. I was told that in NYC’s public schools had a dress code which included no tennis shoes, no dungarees and all shirts had to have collars because ties were required. This litany was delivered to me by the assistant Principal, Mr. Titlebaum, on my first day of the spring semester of the eighth grade. I said to him, “what are dungarees”? Because I wasn’t wearing a tie he gave me one from his collection of ugly, long, wide paisley ties which I had to wear all day. I haven’t recovered from that embarrassment yet.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      Dungarees are defined as, “clothes made usually of blue denim,” so that’s just another names for jeans. It was what they were called around here when I was a kid. They could be anyLevi’s or Lee’s as dungarees was just a name, not a brand.

      I wore uniforms to school so no casual clothes, but jeans weren’t even allowed in the local high school back then and shirts did have to have collars but ties were not required.

      I don’t blame you-yikes a paisley tie!

      • flyboybob Says:

        Of course dungarees is a generic term never to be used below the Mason Dixon line of west of the Rockies. Real men wear button fly Levi’s. I never had the desire to waste my time to button up or down when standing at the urinal. Now that I’m older, button fly Levi’s could be considered finger exercises. 🙂

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        Button flies weren’t popular here until the 60’s. They were never around when I was young. Men, in those days, didn’t wear jeans. I never saw an adult male in them when I was young.


Comments are closed.


