Rivers of Babylon: Boney M

Birgit, there is neither rhyme nor reason to my choices today, but they do have something in common.

Explore posts in the same categories: Music

9 Comments on “Rivers of Babylon: Boney M”

  1. Birgit Says:

    1978 #1 hits?

    Boney M: Nooooooo. The disco nightmare of the late 1970’s in Germany. This song was etched into our young innocent brains and I can still hear it without listening to this song ever again.

    Matchstalk Men: I don’t think that I’ve heard this song before. I didn’t know what matchstalk and the song title means and had to look up L.S. Lowry. Seems to be an interesting painter, his industrial landscapes look familiar. I have to search for more of his paintings now.

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      Not number 1 but 1978 is exactly the connection.

      I didn’t even know either song, but I really liked the Matchstalk Men. The two singers were one hit wonders, but it was a great hit. I hadn’t ever heard Boney M. before this.

      • Birgit Says:

        Lucky you. Not being tortured by the songs of German-based BoneyM on radio and TV for years is a mercy.

      • katry Says:

        Birgit,
        He could have been on US radio but I listened to folk stations and oldies, still do!

  2. Jay Bird Says:

    OMG!! That was soooooo bad, you have to post the Linda Ronstadt version of “Rivers of Babylon” from “Hasten Down the Wind”, one of the best from a great album.

    The 70’s were not a great decade for music; the 80’s much worse; the 90’s better. The 60’s were the best, IMO. Funny how cycles go.

    • katry Says:

      Jay,
      I was posting hit songs from 1978 and this was one of them. I hadn’t ever heard of it.

      I think I missed a lot of 70’s music. I know I missed the 80’s and still haven’t caught up.


Comments are closed.


Discover more from

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading