“In life, more than in anything else, it isn’t easy to end up alive.”

I am outside on the deck writing Coffee. The day is such a delight I didn’t want to miss any breeze, any bird song or any butterfly flitting by. It is a bit noisy here as I can hear mowers and blowers and cars going down the street, but those are short-lived sounds and I can be patient until they disappear. Gracie is with me and she is sleeping in the corner in the shade.

Just as I was ready to go out last night I found a dead mouse on the rug by the door. It wasn’t there earlier as I had been in and out and think I would have noticed. It was a baby grey mouse. As to which of my animals is the mighty hunter I have no idea. What is strange is I never heard the encounter. Usually the hunter makes quite a bit of nose running and slipping across the floor. The mouse looked as if it was sleeping and was dry, no saliva all over it, so I’m thinking it was Fern or Maddie. Gracie is a sloppy hunter. Now I’ll set up the have-a-heart trap as one mouse really means many mice.

I am not an accident ready to happen but rather an accident which has already happened and will happen again and again. It is my lot in life. Lately my feet and toes have fallen victims to my genetic defect. A wooden sign which says No Pets was moved the other night, and I forgot. It fell on my foot, and the swelling didn’t go down until yesterday. I stubbed the same toe twice in the last two days. What is even worse is I stubbed it against the cat gate both times. Some people live and learn. I live and have bumps, cuts and black and blues. It didn’t happen when I was a kid. I guess I grew into the defect passed along by my father. My favorite of all is the exhaust burn from my motorcycle. Don’t get me wrong it hurt like hell, but it was the circumstance which gave me to know I was my father’s daughter. There I was stopped on the road to let a herd of goats cross. I was holding my motorcycle but loosely and only by the handlebars. The goats changed direction and ran into my bike which I dropped. It landed on my leg hence the exhaust burn. I think the goats did it on purpose and I’m sticking with that story.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

13 Comments on ““In life, more than in anything else, it isn’t easy to end up alive.””

  1. MT C Says:

    For a while there, I was beginning to believe that I was alone in my stumble/bumbles and self inflicted this and that. Exhaust burns are by far the worst. Especially when you’ve fallen and can’t get up because the darn thing has you pinned down!

    Carl

    • katry Says:

      Hi Carl,
      Luckily it was a small motorcycle which I could pick up. I did moan and curse a bit. I’m happy to know you are one of us!

  2. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    The goats were totally random. Genetics had nothing to do with that.
    I’m not particularly accident-prone. Good thing considering the horse back riding. :) However, I have noticed that when I ding some part of me I generally manage to ding it a bunch more times in quick succession. It’s as if the injured site broadcasts some odd kind of magnetic signal that attracts further disaster.

    Piki Dog is showing evidence of a mighty hunting drive. So far he has pounced upon (and missed) several shrews that he spotted on different walks. I begin to suspect he is part fox from his hunting style. Stare, stare, stare, POUNCE! Straight up, straight down, all four feet together.
    No dead mice here but if I see one, I will know who the executioner is.

    It’s lovely, cool and mostly sunny up here. No noises. Not even lawn mowers.
    Enjoy the day.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      Not so random-there were two of us and they picked me.

      Yup, I totally agree about the magnetic signal. Mine must be beeping all the time giving plenty of opportunities for more damage.

      Piki Dog can visit for a while if I catch a mouse in the trap. He can stare and pounce as much as he’d like at the rest of them hiding in the house.

      The lawn mowers are gone and the birds are the loudest sounds I hear. It is so lovely out with the breeze. I’m going to get some crackers and cheese to bring outside for lunch. That sounds just the thing for a day on the deck.

      Have a wonderful day!

  3. olof1 Says:

    Goats are evil so I do believe it was on purpose :-)

    I’ve been accident free lately so I fear the next one will be a big one :-) I did push a thumbtack a few weeks ago and it broke and went straight in my thumb and that bhurt like h… but that’s it.

    Wonderfully cool here at home today, strong winds as well so I’ve enjoyed the day to the fullest. I did however go to a town called Lidköping early this morning (photos in my blog today) and it was much hotter there and no wind either so I stayed just for a short while.

    I can hear mice walk around in the walls and I have one or two walking around in my pantry too. But I have everything in air tight boxes and jars there now so they won’t reacvh anything. I had hoped they wouldn’t turn uop until it got cold again.

    Have a great day!
    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      I agree with you!!

      I know you too sometimes belong to the accident club. Membership is highly restricted and being allowed to join is a painful honor.

      I love your town photos. It is so interesting seeing how the architect is different. I too would have hurried home to the winds and the cool day.

      My walls don’t have spaces for the mice unless they eat the insulation which will kill them anyway. My stuff is also in airtight plastic as I had those moths and mice enjoying meals at my expense.

      Have a wonderful evening!

  4. im6 Says:

    Once again, I see your choice of music in my Facebook feed and email notifications and I’m going, “Uh oh… Kat’s gone and done it again.” Apparently chastising you and telling you to be more careful isn’t going to work. So I’ll just say I’m sorry you’re such a klutz and send along my wishes that you heal soon.

    Your ups and downs (or should that be downs and downs?) made me think of this song which would fit right in with yours, Hedley’s and my email discussion this morning. Same time period. Same music genre. And I don’t like this one either (except for the title). Also, I find it interesting just how different stars today are from stars back then. Sorry, but Hank would need to really glam up his act A LOT if he expected to be successful these days!

    • katry Says:

      im6,
      That wasn’t my fault. It was dark on the deck and someone else moved the sign. I expected it to be in its usual spot, but it wasn’t. I found it when the damn thing hit my foot.

      Okay, I don’t like this one either. It is the sound I have never liked. Hank in his snappy suit and tie and his pianist similarly dressed definitely need glam, maybe a few rips and tears, a bit of Willie’s look.

      You’re right-title fits perfectly.

  5. Birgit Says:

    It’s a lovely day and our blackbird fledgling “Karlchen” left its nest a few hours ago while I was sitting nearby and watched its first steps into this big wide world. I hope it can hide from the cats, Karlchen was quite loud when it was hungry. I miss watching the busy blackbird parents and the lovely chirping. Must be the empty nest syndrome. Sigh.
    Karlchen learns to fly now, perhaps you should too?

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      I would have loved to watch the fledgling meeting the wide world especially as you’ve seen his entire life from egg to first steps.

      Perhaps I can pull an Icarus!

  6. lilydark Says:

    Hi Kat,
    I have a huge fear of falling… since I seem have done it a lot in my old age. I’m so sorry you have had these accidents which cause you so much pain. I had no idea that you used to ride a motorcycle.
    Mild day here, I can hear the birds chirping and waiting to get Cookie in position to clip her nails..I am not looking forward to fighting with her.
    Waving,
    Lori and the Crew

    • katry Says:

      Hi Lori,
      I was young in my motorcycle days and that was before I caught the falling ailment.

      I am only afraid of falling on the way down. The rest of the time I don’t think about it.

      Good luck with Cookie!

      Waving,
      Kat and the critters


  7. […] from keepthecoffeecoming.wordpress.com – By Kathleen Ryan Share on Facebook Tweet This Article var […]


Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 976 other followers

