“All the world is made of faith, and trust, and pixie dust.”

I have been waking up early the last few days or at least early for me. I think the sunshine makes me not want to waste any daylight. The dog, cat and I don’t get up right away but stay in bed, them sleeping, me reading. My book is just about finished, and I hated leaving it this morning but thoughts of coffee and the papers were enough to roust me from bed. It was a noisy morning. From my bedroom window I could hear the sounds of the early day. Somewhere a lawn was being mowed and I could hear the kids waiting for their bus. Two neighbors, their combined seven kids and one dog are not quiet. The little kids’ bikes rumble up and down the neighbor’s drive-way. She’s not there. The dog barks if a car drives by him. The bus arrives about ten to nine, two of the kids get on, everyone waves to them, the bus leaves and the bikes head on down the street: a couple of Big Wheels and two bikes with training wheels. This afternoon they’ll do it all again for the return trip of the school bus.

I grew up in a golden age. We walked to school and all over town. We played in unfenced yards or went to the playground down the street. It was an innocent age where the only bad guy was a Russian with his atomic bombs, but duck and cover was more of a game to us than a strategy. We played cowboys and Indians. We had heroes like Superman. I don’t think my parents ever locked the front door. The world was never scary except maybe for the guy with the hook. We watched westerns on TV. They always had a good guy and a bad guy, and it was easy to tell them apart. In school, each class had 35 or more kids in it, but the nuns ruled with iron hands. Not one of us dared cross them or we’d get killed at home. The worst thing we ever did was whisper or pass a note. On Saturday nights the whole family went to the drive-in and on summer Sundays the beach. The car was cramped and there was no air-conditioning, but we all survived though with some complaining and pushing and screaming about territorial rights. The phones had operators who connected us, and ours was a party line. We knew just about everyone in our neighborhood. We also knew they’d tell our parents if we did anything wrong. Summer was pure bliss. Some days we walked to the zoo or the pool. The zoo was free; the pool was a dime. My mother sometimes gave us an extra nickel so we could buy a snack from the stall outside the pool. We’d sit under trees at picnic tables and eat our snack before the long trek home, all the way across town. We never gave much thought to the future. We were kids and the future was the next day or as far away as the weekend.

That was the easiest time in my whole life, and I think of it with great fondness and a whole lot of nostalgia.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

4 Comments on ““All the world is made of faith, and trust, and pixie dust.””

  1. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    I wake up early every day. Winter is difficult because it’s such a long time until sunrise. I told myself when I retired I was not getting out of bed before the sun was up. Since I seem unable to break the 4AM habit it can get tiresome waiting around for the sun to roust itself out of bed. Spring is great because the sun is more or less on its way up when I wake up and I don’t have to lie around so long. What a problem to have. :) :)

    We walked everywhere, too. There was a bus that stopped at the end of my street and stopped uptown where one could catch the municipal buses that went to surrounding cities and Boston. I only took it when I had to go to Melrose for music lessons. I lived in a country town but I got around like a city kid; the local bus, the city bus and shank’s mare. :)

    Took Rocky for a walk this morning and I was noticing all the things that are growing just in the past few days. The milkweed is up about 6 inches. Spring is motivating over the hill.
    It’s cloudy and a little windy but not cold up here. Very dramatic clouds, too.
    Enjoy the day.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      I used to get up at 5 or 5:15 at the latest to get ready for the day. I got out of that habit quickly. I now sleep 8 hours so some nights if I’m up late I sleep late. I figure I was sleep deprived the whole time I worked.

      Uptown in Stoneham we could get the bus to Medford or Sullivan Square from where we could anywhere. I remember going in town for movies at the old Met.

      You’ll have leaves and flowers earlier than here. I see it every year. We have buds; you have baby leaves. We are always colder this time of year.

      It is warm here too, 61˚, and also cloudy.

      Have a great evening!

  2. olof1 Says:

    Oh how I wish that my dogs and cats could stay asleep for a while when I wake up :-) This morning they woke up around 4:30 and started running around so I had to shout out loud that they would meet the creator if they didn’t calm down :-) It was a bit too early even for me :-)

    It was just the same when I grew up but it started to break up at the end of my childhood. We were in thge middle so to speak so if the bombs would start to fall we all knew we would dy but not from hits by bombs but by theb radiation they would spread, so we knew it was useless to worry :-) For some reason we also knew that a Swedish politician most likely would talk some sence in to both American and Soviet politicians and therefor save the world :-) :-) :-) We don’t see our politicians in that way any longer, they would most likely do it the wother way now days :-) :-)

    It has been raining all day and it will continue to do so for at least a week according to predictions. They are usually right when it comes to bad weather I’m afraid :-)

    Have a great day!
    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      Some mornings I wake up and pretend to be asleep but Gracie senses it and jumps off to find me to lick me. Mostly she settle back down for bit longer. fern is a sleeper. She gets cozy on the comforter.

      Radiation was never mentioned when I was a kid. People even went out into the desert to watch the a-bomb testings. It wasn’t until later that the truth came out about the dangers.

      No one wanted to be first. A-bombs were great deterrents.

      Cloudy all day here but no rain.

      Have a great evening!


Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 946 other followers

