“If all printers were determined not to print anything till they were sure it would offend nobody, there would be very little printed.”

I’m thinking it must really be spring. The nights are cold but the days are sunny and mostly in the 50’s. Yesterday the plants I had ordered on-line were placed in the garden. I got excited at the idea that soon enough I can fill my wagon at the garden store, and my front garden will be a blaze of color. Spring makes me smile.

The Red Sox open today in Detroit. My expectations are lower than they have been in years because of last September and their spectacular fall from grace, but this is a familiar place. Until the Sox won the World Series in 20o4, we Sox fans always had hope but never too much hope. The let down was less painful that way.

I read in the paper this morning that the New York City Department of Education has sent a list of fifty banned words to textbook publishers. No, they aren’t composed of four letters, and no, they are never beeped on TV. Here’s some of the list: dinosaur, birthday, pepperoni, dancing, home computers, Halloween, space aliens, divorce, slavery, terrorism and disease. The school department wants these words eliminated because banning them “allows our students to complete practice exams without distraction.” With tongue in cheek, I wonder about pizza without pepperoni, and I’ll have to start singing Happy (hum here) to you, Happy (hum here) to you and T-Rex was just a big animal. I’m not sure how I’ll get around dancing. Gyrations could be the substitute but that seems suggestive. ET is just a visitor from another place. History is going to take a big hit if we eliminate discussions of slavery. As for the others, how can the school department eliminate the word terrorism? What caused that big hole in the ground?

This is taking political correctness to a terrifying height. The reasons for banning these words all hinge on so called cultural sensitivity. Talk of dinosaurs may offend people who don’t believe in evolution though that has nothing to do with dinosaurs. Jehovah’s Witnesses don’t celebrate birthdays so no one else should either. Pepperoni is junk food, and not everyone can afford a home computer. Rock and Roll music is on the list. Maybe we need a new Alan Freed to rise in defense. I am speechless which is probably good as I wouldn’t want to offend!

List of banned words: Political Correctness.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

22 Comments on ““If all printers were determined not to print anything till they were sure it would offend nobody, there would be very little printed.””

  1. olof1 Says:

    At the same time as I was laughing out loud to those forbidden words it actually scares me a lot!!!! Many words were banned due to religion so why not all the gods names? I mean a Christian fundamentalist could be offended by reading Shiva or any other God. Mohamed is also probably offending someone like Jesus too!

    But can’t rock and roll be replaced with Stone and trundle :-) :-) :-) I can’t but hate when they do things like this! I really hope nothing like that happens here but I can’t say I’m sure it won’t I’m afraid.We have other really scary and stupid examples. Like when some schools forbade the celebration of our national day and instead celebrated the UN day. Some immigrants would perhaps be sad they said because they had been forced to leave their country. So stupid! the ones really celebrating that day here are the immigrants :-) :-) :-)

    April weather here now, Yesterday was sunny, calm and reasonable warm, even though it started by being nasty cold with only 14F. Today we’re waiting for a big snowstorm :-) :-)

    Have a great day!
    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      I too was scared when I read this. It sounded like the 50’s and McCarthyism which was esentially a witch hunt. How many people must be offended before a word is banned? I have a feeling that the criticism they’re receiving for this may cause them to backtrack.

      It is chilly here today, only in the mid-4o’s. The sun was shining but now the clouds have taken over.

      Enjoy your evening!

  2. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,

    I had a reasoned comment to make about this but it occurred to me that Reason had no place in this particular decision. So I will just say what a bunch of ultramaroons!

    Sunny and not quite in the 50’s here. I’m fighting off a cold. Rocky is bored and so am I.

    Enjoy the day!

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      I totally agree with you. I had to couch my comments in a bit of humor as I just had no words to express my outrage.

      Now it’s chilly here. I’m going to put on a pair of socks!

  3. Bubba Says:

    A look at Londons Coffee Bar scene 1959…
    .

    • katry Says:

      Bubba,
      I found that so very interesting. I never knew Londan had , at one time, a coffee scene. I would have enjoyed being around then to go to some of them. That last one, The Macabre, was especially unique.

      Thanks!

  4. Hedley Says:

    Its warm and sunny here in Detroit as America’s favorite pitcher, Justin Verlander looks to clip the sox from wherever. Lots of empty desks as the gang have taken advantage of a beautiful day. A two hitter through six.

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      I watched the whole game and wasn’t happy with the outcome, naturally as my boys lost. Justin pitched and excellent game!

      I’d have preferred a win, but it was a good game!

  5. Birgit Says:

    I’ve already read about this NYC-education-nonsense
    and as a foreigner I probably should not comment
    but similar patterns are unfortunately universal.
    Restrict civil rights and freedom of press and label it “war on terror”.
    Restrict womens rights and declare it as gods will. (Many gods apply.)
    Manipulate diction to effect free thinking and label it PC or whatever.
    (It is only consequential to start with the children.)
    And so on …
    Fortunately most citizens aren’t so stupid as some politicians
    think or want us to be. (But that requires good education for all.)

    So, have a good _violent_-free day with the baseball-_celebrities_
    and _In-depth discussions of sports that require prior knowledge_
    on _television_ (with _Rock-and-Roll music_ , _junk-food_
    and _alcohol_ if you like)
    and thanks for your blog (per _computer at home_ )
    and forgive my _politics_-comment ;-)

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      Your first paragraph is frighteningly true in so many parts of the world. Start when they are young. I remember the song from South Pacific, You’ve Got to Be Carefully Taught:

      You’ve got to be taught
      To hate and fear,
      You’ve got to be taught
      From year to year,
      It’s got to be drummed
      In your dear little ear
      You’ve got to be carefully taught.

      You’ve got to be taught to be afraid
      Of people whose eyes are oddly made,
      And people whose skin is a diff’rent shade,
      You’ve got to be carefully taught.

      You’ve got to be taught before it’s too late,
      Before you are six or seven or eight,
      To hate all the people your relatives hate,
      You’ve got to be carefully taught!

      You are always welcome to comment on anything here. No banning here!

  6. Zoey & Me Says:

    Rediculous. War on Women; War on Terror; when is this country going to grow up?

    • katry Says:

      Z&Me,
      Luckily it is only one place, not the whole country, and the ciriticism concerning this is widespread. I didn’t see any commentors agreeing with the state of New York

  7. katry Says:

    My Dear Hedley,
    I thought the good guys lost!!

    • Hedley Says:

      Kat, I am sure the Pink Sox are a very nice team but let’s be honest The Detroit Tigers are America’s baseball team. I heard that Mitt Romney makes pictures of Big Papi on his Etch A Sketch.

      • katry Says:

        My Dear Hedley,
        Nope, this is not another one of your America’s team. The Red Sox are the beloved team, the team which plays in that lyrical bandbox of a park which will be 100 this year. Sometimes the good guys lose!

  8. Bill S. Says:

    And the penalty for using such banned words is…..??????

    There is always someone complaining about something, or being offended by someone or some group. SNAP OUT OF IT!!

    • katry Says:

      Bill,
      I guess the publishers will not be able to sell their text books to the city of New York which could be a considerable order. I wonder who is going to sit and read every different text to make sure the publisher complied.

      It only gets worse!

  9. Bill S. Says:

    When I read this, I thought it was a late April Fool’s joke. Not everyone can afford a home computer? Not everyone can afford lots of things: a vacation home, a Porsche, diamonds, etc. Are those words banned too? And what are textbook publishers supposed to call slavery? This makes no sense whatsoever.

    • katry Says:

      Bill,
      I had that conversation with some friends last night. We were trying to find a substitute for slavery. One was indentured servant-only worse. Another one was property but that would be offensive I bet. I’m at a loss.

  10. Mark Says:

    Hi there! Have the Red Sox worked out a plan to overcome The Curse Of The Andino? Unheralded infielder Robert Andino drove in the winning run in that final game last September and the local wags have now hung that tag on the Sox. It took how many years to dispel The Curse Of The Bambino? And his childhood privy was located not far from where Andino’s hit dropped in front of Carl Crawford.

    The Orioles may not win much this year, but last year ended on a high note and this year, we’re 1-0 already! Good luck, Kat! You’re a nice lady. PS I retired 3/1!!

    Mark

    • katry Says:

      Mark,
      Red Sox fans aare back to holding their breaths, just like the old days. They had no real trades in the off-season, and I am not a Valentine fan. The future looks dim.

      I thought I’d sent congrats but if I didn’t, welcome to the best of all worlds where there are no alarm clocks, no early mornings and where every day is Saturday! I hope you enjoy your retirement as much as I do!


Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 955 other followers

