“All of the animals except for man know that the principle business of life is to enjoy it.”

When I woke up the first time, I could hear the rain. I decided it was too early to get up so I turned over and went back to sleep. When I woke up the second and final time, large, wet flakes were falling, and there was a slight cover of snow on the ground. Since then, the rain has returned. For tonight a wind advisory has been issued. The number of changes in just one day’s weather are amazing.

The Cape Times mentioned North Atlantic right whales are back in the bay far earlier than expected. It seems the ocean is about 3 and 1/2 degrees warmer than usual at this time of year. Also, copepods, the plankton which draws the whales here for feeding, are earlier than usual. The strange winter continues.

I was going to go to the dump, but the rain puts me off being outside flinging trash bags. I need nothing from the store, and I have no other errand so today I will be a slug, stay in my cozies and do nothing constructive except maybe make my bed. But then again, I might want a nap so making the bed could be a waste of time.

I’m sitting here without a light on. I can hear the rain on the roof and see drops falling. Maddie is rubbing against my leg hoping for some attention. Fern is sleeping on the back couch cushion. Gracie is also sleeping and so deeply sleeping I can hear her breathing and see the tip of her tongue. She got up a while ago, stretched, came over for a pat then went right back to the couch. Maddie is standing here while I scratch her back. My father always used to say he’d want to come back as an animal in one of our houses. Looking around my den, it’s easy to understand why.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

8 Comments on ““All of the animals except for man know that the principle business of life is to enjoy it.””

  1. olof1 Says:

    Quite the opposite weather here today, sunshine and warm but the wind is rather strong. But I don’t mind, it helps to dry the roads we’re walking on all the time.
    Spring has arrived to the west coast they say. It is spring when the temperature is above 32F for ten days. We’re a bit behind here in little siberia though but if this weather continues we’ll have spring within a week. But, there’s always a but isn’t it :-) weather can change quickley yet.

    Have a great day!
    Christer.

    • Kat Says:

      Christer,
      It got warmer today and now at 8 it is still 43°. That is far too warm!

      When I look at the snow in your pictures, I think you’re way behind. This winter we have had about 6 and half inches of snow, and that’s it. Luckily, we have had a lot of rain.

  2. Zoey & Me Says:

    The weather is screwed up down here too. 86 today but earlier it was 66 so I now have sweaters in both cars. Crazy to run the heat in the car when leaving and the A/C on the way home. So are you planning for a “slug” weekend? I need one of those just to put my head back on.

    • Kat Says:

      Z&Me,
      66 is a beautiful warm day here, but I understand it is all relative.

      We get excited if at this time of year we reache 60°. Boston is far more likely to get the warmer weather as the ocean keeps us a bit colder, sometimes 5° cooler.

      I do have to go out for breakfast on Sunday then I’ll head to the dump-the run I wanted to make today, but I have nothing else planned.

      I was thinking of doing some baking which I haven’t done in forever, but I have to get some eggs so that’s it for tomorrow!

  3. Lori Kossowsky Says:

    We are having crazy summer weather. I can go out during the day in just a tee and sweats. Jewels is sleeping on the bed, and when she awakes she will order me what she would like me to do. Yes, I wouldn’t mind coming back as a cat with a loving caretaker. I actually left the house to go swimming today, and last night I went to a play. Tomorrow will be a slug day.

    • Kat Says:

      Lori,
      We aren’t even close to summer. A hoodie is the lightest clothes we could get away with and not freeze. It is again in the mid 40’s, and that sure as heck isn’t winter.

      I have a few house things today and a couple of errands.

  4. Rick Oztown Says:

    I’m suggesting that it is not the principle (sic) business for the quote but the principal business of life.


Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 984 other followers

