“Look! It’s moving. It’s alive. It’s alive… It’s alive, it’s moving, it’s alive, it’s alive, it’s alive, it’s alive, IT’S ALIVE!”

Today is dark and rainy. It’s a stay in sort of day. I’m thinking old black and white science fiction movies might be perfect to while away the day. I already know the plot. Strange creatures will attack, some terrestrial, some extraterrestrial. Our heroine will run away screaming. She’ll be wearing a dress and high heels, and she’ll fall. Heroines always do. Our hero will grab her just in time, just before the creature does. He’ll save her and he’ll save the day.

Every Halloween I pull out the old horror movies, the monsters of my childhood, Dracula, Frankenstein, the Wolfman and the Mummy. They didn’t need to be in color or have gore. They scared me anyway.

I’ll never forget the eyes of Dracula in his guise as the count. They looked huge and frightening shining in the light. Even though I never saw Dracula bite his victims, I knew what was happening when he pulled his cape around them. What I imagined was always scarier than what was real. Renfield with his hysterical laughter and his flies and spiders was almost as fascinating as the count, maybe because he had once been just an ordinary person.

I always felt bad for the Wolf Man. I thought of the character as poor Larry Talbot. I never liked that Gypsy woman who tells Larry he’s a werewolf. She was almost scarier than the wolf. It was the eyes again.

I have favorite scenes in Frankenstein. One is when he is awakened by the electricity, when the current goes up and down the coil and the lightening strikes. The scene with the little girl is another. The mob running through the village holding torches and leading dogs to hunt down the monster is my all time favorite scene.

The Mummy is not so scary, but I love it anyway especially the scenes where Im-ho-tep walks with his arms out straight and his wrappings dragging as he hunts for his beloved.

When I was little, I knew the movies weren’t real, but I still had a nagging doubt and always hoped it wouldn’t be a werewolf attacking us. We’d never find a silver bullet.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

6 Comments on ““Look! It’s moving. It’s alive. It’s alive… It’s alive, it’s moving, it’s alive, it’s alive, it’s alive, it’s alive, IT’S ALIVE!””

  1. olof1 Says:

    I love these old horror movies, but I canĀ“t stop smiling when I see an old Frankenstein film. I always remembers something funny from Young Frankenstein :-) :-) Especially when the monster runs away, in my mind I then see how he get a bowl of hot soup in his lap and how his finger starts to burn when he gets that cigar :-) :-) :-)

    The Creature from the Black lagoon is still a favorite of mine and naturally all Dracula movies :-)

    Have a great day now!
    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      I love Young Frankenstein too. It always makes me laugh.

      The original set of the lab from the old movie was used in Young Frankenstein. I thought that was really cool.

      I too love The Creature from the Black Lagoon. All those old B&W movies are favorites of mine.

  2. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    I’m with Christer. I can’t watch Frankenstein without comparing it to Young Frankenstein and having a chuckle.
    Dracula was scarier to read than it was to see as a movie. Nosferatu was really creepy as a movie. There was nothing charming about that vampire at all.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      I’m with you both. That movie was just so funny-loved Marty Feldman as I(e)gor. Cloris Leachman was a hoot.

      I agree about Nosferatu being really creepy and scary. I swear his fingers were several feet long.

  3. Zoey & Me Says:

    We do horror films here on Halloween. What’s not on TV cable, we rent on Showtime. Usually we’ve seen them all. I love your line about the villagers, the scene where they have their torches and are flailing and climbing up the mountain to kill the monster. There was something uniquely funny about that scene and I tried to find it to show as a joke of the Tea Baggers when Glenn Beckkk threw his Whitestock on the National Mall. Couldn’t find it at all and forgot to call you. I bet you would have found it. Funny!

    • katry Says:

      Z&Me,
      I have a great collection of old movies, even have more of them than the new movies. Black and white seems to give horror movies an added dimension. I think it’s the shading and the light.

      I would have given it a try-finding that picture!


Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 999 other followers

