“We Are Borg. We Will Assimilate You. Resistance Is Futile!”

The sun is out today, but there’s a breeze so it’s a bit chilly. Warm is coming though. It will be in the 60’s the next few days, may even reach 70. I’m figuring lots of deck time.

Yesterday was a do little day. I did clean out a cabinet and found lots of food older than my dog on the top shelf in the back. I guess I should think of the whole experience as an archeological dig. Maybe I’ll bury it all in the backyard. Years from now anthropologists can try and figure out who Snap, Crackle and Pop were, if all the jars of mustard were part of a ritual, if three was a significant  number for white vinegar and whether or not every family had several jars of pepper jelly.

If Stephen Hawking is to be believed, those messages we’re sending into space are really invitations to come and ravage our planet. I just can’t believe it. Any aliens who tune into The Beatle’s Across the Universe on their space radios would probably be looking for concert tickets, not cities to level to the ground.

If Hawking is right and there are aliens bent on world destruction, maybe they’re here all ready. All we have to do is watch. I saw all the science fiction movies when I was a kid so I know what to look for. They don’t show emotion. Their faces are blank. People who disappear for a bit return with odd robot-like behavior. Their personalities lack any warmth. They don’t drink alcohol, a sure sign of an alien presence. Remind you of anyone? I’m thinking of Sister Redempta.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

12 Comments on ““We Are Borg. We Will Assimilate You. Resistance Is Futile!””

  1. Christer Says:

    Even if we really didn´t have any sun we reached 68F today :-) I could hang out my laundry for the first time this year and the strong wind dried it up in minutes :-)

    Don´t forget pointy ears also shows that they are alien! I think I´m partly alien since one of my ears are rather pointy :-) :-)

    I´m not sure they would come to destroy us, but we would most certanly get a lot of new diseases we will die from. I´ve always wondered about that in movies when they come to a new world. They will most probably kill almost all inhabitants on that planet within months with our diseases :-) :-) :-)
    Have a great day now!
    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      You were far warmer than we were. The breeze off the ocean kept us cold. It is supposed to be in the 30’s tonight.

      I figure pointy ears might be a bit obvious. I laughed to think you are related to Spock.

      I’d like to think the microbes on Earth would do in the aliens, like in War of the World.

  2. splendid Says:

    I never trust anyone who doesn’t drink alcohol.
    Perhaps they are aliens,
    but anyone who wants to ‘save me’
    is suspicious., including every nun i’ve ever met.

    xoxoxoxoxoxoxox
    delightful today kat!

    • katry Says:

      splendid,
      No one ever tried to save me. I suspect they found me hopeless.

      I want just a bit of that delightful.

  3. hedley Says:

    Borg ? Today’s column was way Bjorn me :-)

    • Bob Linn Says:

      This is an old one but what the heck. The story is that the SETI mission had a response from deep space. It was, “Send more Chuck Berry.”

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      There he was, Bjorn, on the front page of the sports section today. Coincidence? I don’t think so!

  4. zoey & me Says:

    Kat . . they are here . . . the aliens are called Tea Baggers. Read the news, read my blog, I FOLLOW these aliens daily. They will kill off mankind but only if you’re brown skinned, black, or don’t have a birth certificate. Some of them even took up space in MA.. Be afraid! Be Very Afraid!

  5. Bob Says:

    Unfortunately, we will probably destroy ourselves before the aliens can get here due to the vastness of space and that the speed of light is impossible to exceed. If the aliens could exceed the speed of light, why would they want to visit us? We are an insignificant planet, in an insignificant solar system, slowly circling in the back water of an insignificant galaxy. We humans only think that we are important enough for aliens to be interested in visiting Earth.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I remember reading that believing we are it was ridiculous and self-centered.

      I think curiosity is so strong in humans that we attribute it to aliens that may or may not exist. We keep wondering what’s out there and maybe, just maybe, so do the inhabitants of a few other planets.


Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 968 other followers

